Clutch Not Disengaging

Got questions? We got answers....
CarsonMcI

Clutch Not Disengaging

Post by CarsonMcI »

Hi all, I just did an engine rebuild and when heat cycling the bike I noticed that the clutch doesn't disengage. I adjusted the cable to where it almost bottoms out hoping that was the problem but when I went to put it in first it instantly stalled as if I didn't have the clutch in. The clutch was perfectly fine before the rebuild so I'm sure I did something wrong here. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
kdxsully
Supporting Member

Re: Clutch Not Disengaging

Post by kdxsully »

You’ll have to take the cover off and make sure your push rod is properly assembled.
I like turtles
CarsonMcI

Post by CarsonMcI »

kdxsully wrote: 08:36 pm Oct 25 2019 You’ll have to take the cover off and make sure your push rod is properly assembled.
I just took it off and checked and everything looked okay although im no expert lol. I made sure it was right based on the exploded diagrams I have though. There's pressure on the clutch lever so I can tell it's pushing the clutch in but idk it's just not releasing at all
bufftester
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post by bufftester »

What did you torque you're clutch spring fasteners to? Also, double check your washer stack-up, there a couple with a spacer and the placement matters.
CarsonMcI

Post by CarsonMcI »

bufftester wrote: 09:56 pm Oct 25 2019 What did you torque you're clutch spring fasteners to? Also, double check your washer stack-up, there a couple with a spacer and the placement matters.
Springs were torqued to 76 in pounds and all the washers were right according to my diagrams except apparently one is slightly concaved? How important is the orientation?
jjavaman
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Post by jjavaman »

Turn the washer around, I did the same thing.
97-220 with a PC pipe. 2015- RB carb and head mod
kdxsully
Supporting Member

Post by kdxsully »