KDX200 hard to start/not running

Got questions? We got answers....
CarsonMcI

KDX200 hard to start/not running

Post by CarsonMcI »

Hey guys, so I'm new to two strokes but I just got a kdx200 and the only way I'm able to start it is to kick it with the throttle open just a smidge and even then it takes 10-15 kicks. Once it's running it revs nice and is responsive but when you put it in gear and let out the clutch it just doesn't want to take any gas and bogs and dies. I've cleaned the entire carb and the jets and made sure the floats were set to spec with a caliper and I've also tried a brand new carb as well as a new spark plug and none of this has helped. I have followed carb tuning tutorials as far as adjusting the needle jet as well as the air screw and throttle screw and none of it seems to make a difference in starting it or it running. I'm kinda stumped here and any help would be appreciated! thank you
kdxsully
Supporting Member

Re: KDX200 hard to start/not running

Post by kdxsully »

Low compression can make it hard to start.
I like turtles
bufftester
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post by bufftester »

Being a 2 stroke, you have to open the throttle to start it, just the way 2Ts are. As for the carb adjustment, lots of folks skip right over the first part...make sure everything is mechanically sound with your motor. That means inspecting all the rubber boots between the airbox/carb/motor for leaks and cracks. Ensuring you have good compression, leakdown to check crank seals, fresh gas/oil/plugs/clean filter/muffler packing (if required). Once you've done that then you're ready to clean the carb and run through the tuning.
KDXGarage
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by KDXGarage »

If you just got it, did you have a test start and ride before buying? How was it then?

Check compression, air filter, reeds, etc.

I am guessing fuel or air issue.