rectifier / floating ground ? (ac to dc howto)

Got questions? We got answers....
ohgood
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Post by ohgood »

I've read several posts now about floating grounds. i haven't found a diagram of it.

i have a four connector rectifier:
dc +
dc -
ac
ac

and i have the lighting coil:
yellow wire to the normal wiring harness

questions:
where is the rectifier to be added? (please be specific)

is floating the ground simply removing the grounded side of the lighting circuit and connecting it to one of the ac leads on the rectifier, then the yellow ac wire to the other ac lead?

is the dc +/- just connected to the lights (with a fuse) or should it go through the regulator?

simple answers please, I'm not an electrician.

draw a picture if you like. simpler is better.

thanks
bufftester
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Re: rectifier / floating ground ? (ac to dc howto)

Post by bufftester »

ohgood wrote:questions:
where is the rectifier to be added? (please be specific)
See below
ohgood wrote:is floating the ground simply removing the grounded side of the lighting circuit and connecting it to one of the ac leads on the rectifier, then the yellow ac wire to the other ac lead?
Yes
ohgood wrote:is the dc +/- just connected to the lights (with a fuse) or should it go through the regulator?
Yes. Normally a rectifier also has the regulator built in, you don't reuse the stock regulator

ohgood wrote:draw a picture if you like. simpler is better.
Start here
KDX wiring1.jpg
KDX wiring1.jpg (51.12 KiB) Viewed 18847 times
Take out everything circled in green
KDX wiring2.jpg
KDX wiring2.jpg (64.14 KiB) Viewed 18847 times
To end up here. At this point all you have is the ignition circuit.
KDX wiring3.jpg
KDX wiring3.jpg (41.69 KiB) Viewed 18847 times
Add rectifier/regulator and battery (you have to figure out the actual physical mounting locations, but plenty of posts on here about that)
KDX wiring4.jpg
KDX wiring4.jpg (43.76 KiB) Viewed 18847 times