Parts interchange

Discussion specific to the various air-cooled KDX models sold in the USA
jeopardy98

Parts interchange

Post by jeopardy98 »

Do any of the parts from an E series work on these bikes? How about the engine, bodywork, and wheels etc?
2004 SV650N
1992 KDX200
Frysk

Parts interchange

Post by Frysk »

I don't know if any parts are interchangeable but as far as I can see by comparing some pictures I think the cylinder of an air cooled version even may fit a E series engine.. I can't measure anything because I've never seen an air cooled KDX in real life.. not even a KDX except mine for a mather of fact :shock:
KDXGarage
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Parts interchange

Post by KDXGarage »

Hi. I have some experience with a C model and an E model. Without major work, a liquid-cooled engine and radiator system is not going to work on an air-cooled motorcycle.

Besides a front fender, I doubt any plastic will swap over.

The 1989 - 1992 KDX200 front wheel may work.

Most parts will not work, as it is a completely different model.
Thank you for participating on kdxrider.net. :bravo:
To post pictures from a device: viewtopic.php?f=88&t=24128
kawagumby
Gold Member
Gold Member

Parts interchange

Post by kawagumby »

The H model and E model forks and wheels will bolt right up. There's not much advantage using E model forks and brakes, but the H model gives you cartridge forks and a dual piston, floating-rotor front brake (I don't know if the C model master cyl will work well with the H model brake cylinder). The H model forks are slightly longer (3/8" maybe?) but not enough to cause a problem. H model forks and wheels are easily found as many folks don't use them after a USD conversion. I have 2 sets of H model forks and two wheels (w/o rotors) I don't know what to do with lol...they're like new.