Wheely in the woods

Have a question about technique?
svtman79

Wheely in the woods

Post by svtman79 »

Which technique do you guys prefer to do a wheely in the woods. I tend to just crack the throttle in second.Sometimes I pull back and sometimes I don't. This doesn't always work. I have seen some guys rev a little then dump the clutch. I tried this once and ended up dragging my fender a few feet. I am very new to riding my KDX220. I have only had it a few weeks, but I am interested in this because where I have to ride there is a lot of holes and water. I want to be able to keep my front in up when I have to. I swapped out the front sprocket for a 12 tooth. I am getting ready to buy a pipe next. I will get reeds next. Hopefully by the end of the year I can get the RB mods done. So what do you guys think?
Ryan Z
1999 KDX220
FMF Gnarly Desert
Boyesen 607's
Air Box Mod with No Toil Filter
12 tooth front sprocket
Jimmy Button Bars
Tusk Bark Busters
.42 kg Racetech springs
Maier MX fender
bronco95tgp

Post by bronco95tgp »

What works for me is standing up on the pegs and pre loading the front forks before I get to the mud hole and gas the wheel up with the fork rebound then stay in the gas. I never use the clutch to wheelie in that situation. I may be missing out on a better technique but thats how I do it. I'm here to learn too.

Don't forget to cover the rear brake.

A lot of the members of this forum's bikes you just crack the gas and hold on. It sounds like you are well on your way to building one too.
its a '04 KDX 220 cadillac
Varmint
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by Varmint »

I never use the clutch technique for fear of ending up on my arse. :butthead: I can ride a wheely on a mountain bike for hundreds of feet (no BS... I've gone around a block a few times!) but have not been able to transfer that skill to my KDX (too much to lose if I dump it!)