throttle control

Have a question about technique?
jbroom

throttle control

Post by jbroom »

i've been racing roadbikes for the past 4 or 5 years (purpose built racing bikes, and supermoto conversions), and have a pretty good handle on throttle control in general. road racing is pretty predictable as far as body position goes. you move around a lot, but its smooth, controlled and usually expected.

the problem i'm having is keeping a steady throttle when i'm in trouble, clearing an obsitcle or accelerating. i understand and try to practice the principle of leading your bike (leaning foward) so that you're not just hanging on for dear life all the time, but i don't have the best handle on the KDX yet, and its power is getting me in trouble every now and then.

for example: this weekend i was riding some muddy single track. i came up to a 5 or 6" thick log that was at about 30º angle across the track. i tried to float my front tire over it, but i caught it and got crossed up. somehow in the process of recovering i grabbed a handfull of throttle, semi recovered, then got a handful again! thus sealing my fate... putting me in the brush straight into a tree and over the bars.. thank god for chest protectors.

I'm trying to stay forward on the bike, keep my wrist pretty level with my arm so i'm not chicken winging it... etc.... any advice on how to improve this issue? i'm sure it'll get better with time, but i'm almost wondering if i should have gotten a slightly less powerful bike to learn on for a year.
Jon
KDX220, dr350 dual sport
Jeb
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by Jeb »

What do you have in that 220? I think I remember your post where you presented the same "issue" and you're stock with some improved jetting, right? Did you clean the carb out really well? That could be an issue if your throttle response is unpredictable.