What is the best kdx/hybrid

Discussion for swapping a KDX motor in a MX frame...
backkraker

What is the best kdx/hybrid

Post by backkraker »

Looking to get an mx frame and put a kdx motor in. Which mx bike year and size and which kdx motor year and size?????

Joe
Air cooled is cool
jc7622
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Post by jc7622 »

I'm no expert since I haven't done one, but just from following some of the projects here it seems that an '03 KX125 is supposed to be the hot ticket. Maybe some of the hybrid owners will add more .
ebeck

Post by ebeck »

You realize you have to cut and weld, no direct bolt in exists...
backkraker

Post by backkraker »

Just how much cut and welding? I have some fabrication experience. Thanks for the reply.

Joe :razz: :cool:
Air cooled is cool
scheckaet
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Post by scheckaet »

have you read the stickies on the top of this forum?
magilla
Supporting Member I
Supporting Member I

Post by magilla »

I'm almost done with my hybrid (00' KDX220 engine in an 01' KX125 chassis). I can't give you riding impressions yet, but I can tell you about construction. It's not bad. :mrgreen: ebecks wright up on this forum is pretty comprehensive and there where only a few clarifications needed during the build. One item to note is that you really need to do your own measurements when it comes to cutting the swingarm. The ones on the diagram posted here are very close, and would probably work just fine, but I'm kinda anal about this sort of thing and found that not only where my parts a little different from the figures listed here, they where slightly different left-to-right.

I used an 01' chassis because I found one with a license plate, and because initially it looked to be the easier conversion (common front head-stay).
After watching art5 and ebecks 03' bikes come together, as well as doing my 01' I now believe that the 03' is the better bet.