Air cooled

Discussion for swapping a KDX motor in a MX frame...
KDF200X

Air cooled

Post by KDF200X »

Hello all
Let me start by apologizing for the run on sentences.
I am currently in the middle of a hybrid build. I'm putting an '86 Kdx200 into an '04 Kx250f.
Currently the engine is in the frame(full engine rebuild year and a half ago); having milled the shifter side case half, faced both swing arm baring sleeves, fabricated new top and front engine mounts (the mount locations were close enough that nothing was relocated only new mounts made), utilized v-force 3 reed cage assembly, a late model Kdx200 intake manifold, Lectron carburetor, air boot replacement consisting of 2.25" I.D. intake hose/flared tube welded to air box-backer plate.

Still to do is; finish the header (nearly done), mount the silencer(new DG)/fabricate and weld mounts to sub frame, fabricate and weld on lower engine mounts, turn support rod for radiator shroud

Back story
I started riding mid summer 2015, my neighbor and friends had ridden for years beforehand. When i got my Kx450f other people in my family started getting bikes. My cousin got the 04 250f. I loved this bike. It made me curious about smaller displacement bikes. I ended up with the 86 kdx200, and loved the power plant(was willing to rebuild after less than 20 of its final hrs.) but the bike was still a $500 bike(most everything is WELL worn). To round this off I ended up buying the 250f from my cousin.
Anyways the 04 is a first year with first year issues(this particular example has gone through at least 3 heads in the last 2 owners), and the 86 is a fresh engine with a well used 33 year old everything. So I'm risking the beautiful handling, balance, and feel of the 250; as well as shedding the sleek gracefulness of the Kdx, in hopes of something better than either.
'86 Kdx200/ '04 Kx250f - hybrid
'06 Kx450f
KDXGarage
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Re: Air cooled

Post by KDXGarage »