How different does a Hybrid ride vs the KDX?

Discussion for swapping a KDX motor in a MX frame...
19Delta
Supporting Member

How different does a Hybrid ride vs the KDX?

Post by 19Delta »

I have an 03 KDX. All stock. I weigh 175lbs, and my son weighs around 230. He likes the suspension stock. When I ride or race it in an enduro, I swap the rear links to Koba 3 links, and slide the forks up in the clamps. It still feels off... like the front end isn't working, feels stiff to me. I rode dirt bikes as a kid, and I ride trials a LOT. I am a Newb nobody on an enduro bike, but having fun and getting better. I'm looking for a second bike that will only be for me, and my son will only get the bike we already have. I live in Northern Indiana, and we ride tight trails. Planning a trip to Moab Utah next year! :grin: If it helps any, I rode a KTM freeride and fell in love. I wish there was a way to build that for cheap!

I'm curious how you guys would compare the following bikes:

Bike #1. Stock H series KDX, with suspension tuned to the specific rider by a local suspension race shop.

Bike #2. H series KDX, with KLX or KX forks, with suspension tuned to the specific rider by a local suspension race shop.

Bike #3. H series KDX/KX Hybrid, with suspension tuned to the specific rider by a local suspension race shop.

Thanks a bunch for the input guys, I really appreciate it!
ecojbr
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Re: How different does a Hybrid ride vs the KDX?

Post by ecojbr »

There really is no comparison. I have built three hybrids now. All three are still at the races. I let one go and went to a 250. Back on a hybrid. My son made his best finish this year on it. He normally races a 250 and he weighs 215. That is my opinion.
04 kx220 hybrid
03 kx 250
05 kdx 200
19Delta
Supporting Member

Post by 19Delta »

Can you describe how they ride differently? Which is easier to ride for a novice/intermediate rider?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
ecojbr