94' KLX250 quick swap

Questions and comments about converting to beefier forks..
decluk13

94' KLX250 quick swap

Post by decluk13 »

At some point early this year I convinced myself that a pair of USD forks were absolutely necessary for my personal happiness. It probably had a lot to do with the updated looks, it might have had something to do with wanting “tighter feedback” from the bars I can’t remember I was blind to reason. I found what I thought was a pretty decent deal on the forks, triple clamps, guards, and front brake from a 94’ KLX250 and decided this would be the route I took
94' KLX250R donor bike.
94' KLX250R donor bike.
20200508_165142.jpg (377.33 KiB) Viewed 1646 times
I’m sure this has drawn some heavy sighs as they are not the preferred KX forks and lack rebound adjustability. It’s important to note here that I am a far more capable mechanic than rider. I probably wouldn’t know rebound being out of adjustment if it slapped me in the face.

Like many of you I planned on doing some riding/racing this spring, so the parts were picked up for a “down the road” project. Well you guys probably heard of this COVID thing going around and needless to say this project moved up the list. Maybe this way when things open back up my new forks can be done, installed, and yard tested.

I got the triple clamps cleaned up and put a shine on them to help shed dirt when washing. I also found the previous owner had mashed over one of the steering stops. I had a neighbor with TIG welder get some aluminum built back up. Then I had him add some extra material on the faces that contact the stop. I read the KLX conversion requires just a bit of extra material to keep the fork tubes off the tank.
How hard does one crash to do this?
How hard does one crash to do this?
20200423_171423.jpg (2.65 MiB) Viewed 1646 times