96 KDX200 - Suspension Setup

A service reference
Charles

96 KDX200 - Suspension Setup

Post by Charles »

Hello fellow KDX riders, I'm trying to set up my bike properly and I need some advice.

So I have a 1996 KDX 200 which is quasi-stock. Shock has been rebuilt in a local shop (Kayaba Shock Oil and nitrogen charge), Fork done twice (first by the shop then myself). All the bearings are new or serviceable, (wheels, steering, linkage and swingarm). Tires are new too so there should be only suspension tuning and riding technique issues.

This is the current setup:
Forks: -1 shim; 7.5wt Oil at 100mm. Compression clicker all the way out.
Shock: Compression clicker all the way out, rebound 8 clicks out.
Renthal 644 Enduro bars (wrong sweep angle), which will be replaced by 971RC bars.

I'm 152Lbs and 5'7" without gear. I'm new to offroad and I'm doing enduro riding in rural France. On the "hard" side of enduro, not MX (but why not, one day) . We do a lot of hard, muddy wet rocks and roots sections. Well, at least I'm trying.

This is the issues I have with the bike:

Rear:
-Too much free sag (about 70mm) to obtain a race sag of 100mm.
-The bike tends to kick me out on hits. I had to fully open the compression and limit the rebound to correct this
-I have trouble compressing the rear with my bodyweight while passing obstacles.

This seems to be caused by a stiff shock spring. Am I correct?
Racetech calculator leads me towards a 4.8Kg/mm shock spring. Fredette's recommendation says I'm in the middle of 4.6 and 4.8 springs.
What would be your advice? Also, is this easy to replace? I have access to Hyperpro and Yacougar springs 4.8 for about 100€, or a racetech 4.6 for 160€.

Front:
-The bike feels quite twitchy compared to others I've ridden (even my wife's 99 Husqvarna). It doesn't have the "railroad track" feeling.