bike wants to buck me off at speed

A service reference
kevinha924
Supporting Member

bike wants to buck me off at speed

Post by kevinha924 »

So im new to the dirt bike world and have found something odd with my rear shock when i go over small bumps at speed the rear wheel wants to pop up and buck me off and have been along for the ride on some long nose wheelies which im not really interested in. So im looking to make some adjustments just not really sure where to start? any info is appreciated....thanks..
KDXGarage
KDXRider.net
KDXRider.net

Re: bike wants to buck me off at speed

Post by KDXGarage »

I am suspicious the shock is low on oil and / or nitrogen. Can you make it bouncy when riding slowly by weighting the pegs?

I once worked on a 1984 KX125 that had no oil or nitrogen. I could get it to bounce the rear wheel off the ground just by weighting and unweighting the pegs forcefully. I could hear the engine rev up while the wheel would spin free in the air momentarily. REALLY odd.
Thank you for participating on kdxrider.net. :bravo:
To post pictures from a device: viewtopic.php?f=88&t=24128
Jaguar
Supporting Member

Post by Jaguar »

the oil going thru the valve is what gives the shock damping and so there's no doubt that the shock is low on oil
Performance CDI -- KDX motocross mods -- the SR KDX -- expansion chamber analysis---> http://www.dragonfly75.com/moto/
bob_jones

Post by bob_jones »

It could likely be low on oil, low on nitrogen, and have a failed seal head all at the same time. I just had the same issue with mine. I had to have a rebuild plus I had to have the shaft re-chromed as it was pitted and would have destroyed the new parts if rebuilt without being rechromed.
doakley
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by doakley »