Forks question - Is stock that bad?

A service reference
rhody_romes

Post by rhody_romes »

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the KDX and I want to get my suspension set up correctly. I see a lot of KX fork conversion threads. Are the stock forks that bad? I'm a C rider who rides only single track trails- lots of rocks and roots and some harescrambles. I'm not fast and I'm fine with that. I plan to get new springs to match my weight and revalve the forks. Will that be enough for what I'm doing?
2000 KDX200
Dekon
Supporting Member II
Supporting Member II

Re: Forks question - Is stock that bad?

Post by Dekon »

I don't race but once I got the proper springs for my weight, it made a huge difference in the handling of the bike. It was so much more balanced. A lot of people like to go to USD forks because there is less under hang with them.
sarrant

Post by sarrant »

Properly sprung stock KDX forks sound perfectly fine for your needs and, quite frankly, for anybody who doesn't find them to be a limiting factor of their speed.
Jaguar
Supporting Member

Post by Jaguar »

stock forks are just fine for everybody but pro racers as long as the right weight fluid is in them (I used 7.5wt) and the right strength springs are in them.
But I don't like the stock rear shock and replaced mine with an Ohlins shock which I loved.
Performance CDI -- KDX motocross mods -- the SR KDX -- expansion chamber analysis---> http://www.dragonfly75.com/moto/
doakley
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post by doakley »

I'm a slow C rider myself. Put the right wgt springs in and play around with the fork adjustment and you'll be just fine. I haven't tried the shim mod yet but plan to. I had a bigger problem with the rear. I sent my shock to FRP and let Jeff Fredette rebuild and revalve it. Then I set the sag correctly and it made a HUGE difference. Much better control and tracking. I'm in love with the bike now.
rhody_romes

Post by rhody_romes »

Thanks for the responses!
2000 KDX200
SS109
KDXRider.net